We use cookies on this website. By using this site, you agree that we may store and access cookies on your device.

Municipal Districts

Longford is divided into three seperate Municipal Districts based on population: Longford, Granard and Ballymahon. There are six elected members in each district. Each district meet individually in addition to the monthly full Council meetings. Minutes of each of the municipal area meetings are available here: Council Meetings.

The current Cathaoirleach and Leas Cathaoirleach of the Council and Municipal Districts are as follows:

Longford County Council

  • Cathaoirleach - Martin Mulleady
  • Leas Cathaoirleach - Padraig Loughrey

Longford Municipal District

  • Cathaoirleach - Mae Sexton
  • Leas Cathaoirleach - Seamus Butler

Ballymahon Municipal District

  • Cathaoirleach - Gerard Farrell
  • Leas Cathaoirleach - Paul Ross

Granard Municipal District

  • Cathaoirleach - PJ Reilly
  • Leas Cathaoirleach - Micheal Carrigy