





## **Longford Local Community Safety Partnership**

## Minutes of Quarterly Meeting- 20th December 2021 (3pm)

#### **Held via MsTeams**

Attendance	24 of 30 members
Quorum met?	Yes
Representation Balance Requirements	Yes
Met?	

See Appendix 1 for full record of LCSP attendees

**Apologies:** Paddy McDonnell, Steve Wrenn, Carmel Lally, Kitty Hughes, Adrian Greene, Cllr Paul Ross

**Also in attendance:** Janine Bartley (Community Safety Coordinator), William Priestley & Jenna Murphy (Strategic Transformation Office- An Garda Síochána); Ciaran Murphy (Longford County Council)

#### 1. Welcome and Introductions

Martina Moloney, Independent Chair, opened the meeting and introduced 2 members of the Strategic Transformation Office (STO)-An Garda Síochána, who were attending the meeting in an observational capacity. The STO has a role in supporting and overseeing An Garda Síochána engagement with Local Community Safety Partnerships

It was noted that members of the local media were invited and in attendance as well.

#### 2. Declaration of Interests

The Chairperson asked LCSP members to indicate if they had any conflicts of interest in respect of any item on the agenda. No declarations were made. The Chair advised that if any member became aware of a potential conflict of interest as the meeting progressed, to make it known.







## 3. Confirmation of minutes of previous meeting, held on 20th September 2021

The minutes of the previous meeting, held on 20 September 2021 were circulated in advance. The minutes were adopted on the proposal of Cllr Seamus Butler, seconded by Cllr Uruemu Adejinmi.

#### 4. Matters Arising

None

#### 5. Reports:

#### **5.1** Update: Community Safety Coordinator

Janine Bartley, Community Safety Coordinator, gave an update on activity since the last meeting.

## 5.2 Presentation: Midlands Regional Drug & Alcohol Task Force

Antoinette Kinsella, MRDATF was unable to attend the meeting and requested that the presentation be postponed until the next meeting. This was unanimously agreed.

#### 5.3 Presentation: An Garda Síochána

Superintendent Seamus Boyle gave a presentation which outlined the role, remit and resources of the units within the Longford District of An Garda Síochána (AGS). The presentation included an explanation of the role of AGS in terms of attending Courts. The presentation was widely welcomed and members noted it gave them a better understanding of the role of AGS. A question was asked around daily foot patrols/presence in Longford Town- this was something agreed with the Joint Policing Committee previously. Super Boyle assured members that if resources allowed this, patrols would be put in place, but it does depend on volume of work on a particular day.







#### 6. General Items:

#### a. Adoption of the revised Standing Orders

The revised Standing Orders were reviewed and a number of other small amendments were requested an agreed. This included changing the duration form 3.5 hours to 3 hours. Based on the amendments being made- the Standing Orders were adopted on the proposal of Cllr Seamus Butler, seconded by Cllr Colin Dalton

A discussion then took place around the time of the meeting. A suggestion had been made to change the start time of the meeting to 11am. It was agreed that the Community Safety Coordinator would undertake a poll of members after the meeting to see what the consensus is around a change of time. It was unanimously agreed that the time picked by the majority would be applied for the next quarterly meeting.

#### b. To consider recommendations from Steering Group

# Draft Consultation and Strategy Development Plan & Terms of Reference for Steering Group and Thematic Working Groups

Janine Bartley gave an overview of the Draft Consultation & Strategy Development Plan which included indicative timelines, stakeholder analysis and approach to consultation. It was requested that Tidy Towns groups were added to the list of stakeholders

An overview was also given of draft Terms of Reference for the Steering Group and 2 x Thematic Working Groups. It was noted that this allowed for non- LCSP members with a relevant expertise be invited to join a Thematic Working Group, as appropriate.

The Consultation & Strategy Development Plan and the Terms of Reference for Steering group/thematic working groups were adopted on the proposal of Tony Headon, seconded by Cllr Seamus Butler.







Martina Moloney, Chairperson, requested that all LCSP members consider joining at least 1 of the strategic working groups. It was agreed that the Coordinator would liaise with all members to identify which working group/s they wanted to take part in.

### c. Election of 2 vice-chairs for the LCSP

Nominees were sought in advance for the 2 positions of Vice- Chair (one from community pillar and one from statutory pillar).

It was noted that the vice- chairs would be requested to act as Chair for one of the thematic working groups going forward.

Cllr Seamus Butler and Heather McKenna put themselves forward for the role in advance. No other nominations were made. Cllr Butler and Heather McKenna were ratified as the vice- chairs on the proposal of Cllr Uruemu Adejinmi, seconded by Joe Murphy.

Martina Moloney congratulated the new vice- chairs and advised they would meet in early January to agree working arrangements.

#### 7. Correspondence

- DRIVE report- from Midlands Regional Drug and Alcohol Task Force was launched in November 2021. It was agreed to circulate this to all members
- CYPSC report- it was agreed to circulate this to all members

#### 8. Date of next meeting

The next quarterly meeting of the LCSP is scheduled for 21 March 2022. Time will be determined by the poll to take place after this meeting. It was agreed to meet in person, should public health guidelines allow this.

The meeting concluded on this note.







Prepared by: Janine Bartley

Community Safety Coordinator- 22 December 2021

Adopted by LCSP: 13 June 2022

Chairperson Signature: Maaning Moloney







# **Appendix One-**

## Members Attendance Log- Monday 21st December 2021

Name	Pillar	In Attendance?	Total Attendance by Pillar
Martina Moloney	Independent Chair	Yes	rillal
Kitty Hughes	Community	NO	
Karen Reilly	Community	Yes	
Tony Headon	Community	Yes	
Francis McGee	Community	Yes	
Orla Egan	Community	Yes	
Adrian Greene	Community	NO	
Angela Keaveney	Community	Yes	
Heather McKenna	Community	Yes	
Ndidi Idehen	Community	Yes	
Karen Walsh	Community	Yes	
Aneta Safiak	Community	Yes	
Jim Belton	Community	Yes	
Joseph Murphy	Community	Yes	
Paddy McDonnell	Community	NO	
Luke Casserly	Community	Yes	13 Community Incl Chair
Alma Gavin	Statutory	Yes	
Séamus Boyle	Statutory	Yes	
Grainne O'Donnell	Statutory	Yes	
Antoinette Kinsella	Statutory	Yes	
Carmel Lally	Statutory	NO	
Barbara Heslin	Statutory	Yes	
Cllr. Colin Dalton	Statutory	Yes	
Cllr. Gerry Warnock	Statutory	Yes	
Cllr. Paul Ross	Statutory	NO	
Cllr.Peggy Nolan	Statutory	Yes	
Cllr. PJ Reilly	Statutory	Yes	
Cllr. Seamus Butler	Statutory	Yes	
Cllr. Uruemu Adejinmi	Statutory	Yes	
Steve Wrenn	Statutory	NO	11 Statutory

Total Membership	30		
Total in attendance	24	6 apologies (3 Statutory, 3	
		Community)	
% attendance (of current	80%	24/30	
membership)			
% Pillar representation	Community 54%	Statutory 46%	