Our website uses cookies to offer you a better browsing experience, analyse site traffic, personalise content, and serve targeted advertisements. Please visit our Cookie Policy page for more information about cookies and how we use them.

Municipal Districts

Longford is divided into three seperate Municipal Districts based on population: Longford, Granard and Ballymahon. There are seven members in the Longford district, five in the Granard district and 6 in the Ballymahon district.  Each district meets individually in addition to the monthly full Council meetings. Minutes of each of the municipal area meetings are available here: Council Meetings.

The current Cathaoirleach and Leas Cathaoirleach of the Council and Municipal Districts are as follows:

Longford County Council

  • Cathaoirleach - Paul Ross
  • Leas Cathaoirleach - Turlough McGovern

Longford Municipal District

  • Cathaoirleach - Peggy Nolan
  • Leas Cathaoirleach - Uruemu Adejinmi

Ballymahon Municipal District

  • Cathaoirleach - Colm Murray
  • Leas Cathaoirleach - Mick Cahill

Granard Municipal District

  • Cathaoirleach - Garry Murtagh
  • Leas Cathaoirleach - Turlough McGovern