Our website uses cookies to offer you a better browsing experience, analyse site traffic, personalise content, and serve targeted advertisements. Please visit our Cookie Policy page for more information about cookies and how we use them or click here to manage your cookie preferences.

Council Members

There are 18 Elected Members of Longford County Council. The Elected Members are generally referred to as County Councillors or Councillors. Each of the Councillors is elected to represent a specific Local Electoral Area. In total there are 3 Local Electoral Areas in County Longford.

The following are the names of the Local Electoral Areas and the figure in brackets indicate the number of Councillors that are elected to represent that Local Electoral Area. The current elected members for each of the electoral areas can be viewed using the links below.

Councillors are elected every 5 years at Local Elections. The last Local Election took place on May 23rd 2014.The Statutory Provisions relating to eligibility to become a Councillor and related matters are set out in Part 3 of the Local Government Act 2001.

The Statutory provisions relating to the holding of Local Elections are set out in Part 4 of the Local Government Act 2001. The Act provided for the holding of Local Elections in 2004 and every fifth year thereafter. The Local Elections are conducted using the system of proportional representation with electors having one “Transferable Vote”. The definition of the “Transferable Vote” is set out in Section 37 of the Electoral Act 1992.