Our website uses cookies to offer you a better browsing experience, analyse site traffic, personalise content, and serve targeted advertisements. Please visit our Cookie Policy page for more information about cookies and how we use them.

Council Members

There are 18 Elected Members of Longford County Council. The Elected Members are generally referred to as County Councillors or Councillors. Each of the Councillors is elected to represent a specific Local Electoral Area.  In total there are 3 Local Electoral Areas in County Longford.

The following are the names of the Local Electoral Areas and the figure in brackets indicate the number of Councillors that are elected to represent that Local Electoral Area. The current elected members for each of the electoral areas can be viewed using the links below.

Councillors are elected every 5 years at Local Elections. The last Local Election took place on May 24th 2019.  The Statutory Provisions relating to eligibility to become a Councillor and related matters are set out in Part 3 of the Local Government Act 2001.

The Statutory provisions relating to the holding of Local Elections are set out in Part 4 of the Local Government Act 2001.  The Act provided for the holding of Local Elections in 2004 and every fifth year thereafter.  The Local Elections are conducted using the system of proportional representation with electors having one “Transferable Vote”.  The definition of the “Transferable Vote” is set out in Section 37 of the Electoral Act 1992.


Longford is divided into three separate Municipal Districts based on population: Longford, Granard and Ballymahon.  There are seven members in the Longford district, five in the Granard district and six in the Ballymahon district.  Each district meets individually in addition to the monthly full Council meetings.  

The current Cathaoirleach and Leas Cathaoirleach of the Council and Municipal Districts are as follows:

Longford County Council

Cathaoirleach - Paul Ross
Leas Cathaoirleach - Turlough McGovern

Longford Municipal District

Cathaoirleach - Peggy Nolan
Leas Cathaoirleach - Uruemu Adejinmi

Ballymahon Municipal District

Cathaoirleach - Colm Murray
Leas Cathaoirleach - Mick Cahill

Granard Municipal District

Cathaoirleach - Garry Murtagh
Leas Cathaoirleach - Turlough McGovern